Monday, January 28, 2013

The 2013 Youth Media Awards

I had been planning on (finally) reviewing Steve Sheinkin's Bomb: The Race to Build--and Steal--the World's Most Dangerous Weapon today, which would have been timely since it was one of the big winners at this morning's American Library Association's Youth Media Awards announcement. I meant to re-read Bomb before writing about it, and unfortunately forgot to bring home the book from the library--I've got it checked out, but left it sitting on my desk--so, that review will happen later. Instead, you get a roundup of the honor books and winner.

The Youth Media Awards encompass some of the most important, most recognizable children's and teen book awards, including the Newbery Medal, Caldecott Medal, and Printz Award. You can find the full list of winners here, and an archived video of the livestream is available if you'd like to watch the announcements.

And the winners (and honors) are:

Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Literature Written for Young Adults
Winner: In Darkness by Nick Lake
Honors: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz (which also won the Pura Belpré (Author) Award and Stonewall Book Award - Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award)
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
Dodger by Terry Pratchett
The White Bicycle by Beverley Brenna

Alex Awards for the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences:
Caring is Creepy by David Zimmerman
Girlchild by Tupelo Hassman
Juvenile in Justice by Richard Ross
Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan
My Friend Dahmer by Derf Backderf
One Shot at Forever by Chris Ballard
Pure by Julianna Baggott
The Round House by Louise Erdrich
Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt
Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple

William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teensWinner: Seraphina by Rachel Hartman
Honors: Wonder Show by Hannah Barnaby
Love and Other Perishable Items by Laura Buzo
After the Snow by S. D. Crockett
The Miseducation of Cameron Post by emily m. danforth

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults
Winner: Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin
Honors: Steve Jobs: The Man Who Thought Different by Karen Blumenthal
Moonbird: A Year on the Wind with the Great Survivor B95 by Phillip Hoose
Titanic: Voices from the Disaster by Deborah Hopkinson
We’ve Got a Job: The 1963 Birmingham Children’s March by Cynthia Levinson

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature:
Winner: The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate
Honors: Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz
Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin
Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children
Winner: This Is Not My Hat illustrated and written by Jon Klassen
Honors: Creepy Carrots! illustrated by Peter Brown, written by Aaron Reynolds
Extra Yarn,illustrated by Jon Klassen (yes, Klassen won the medal AND an honor)
Green illustrated and written by Laura Vaccaro Seeger
One Cool Friend illustrated by David Small, written by Toni Buzzeo
Sleep Like a Tiger illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski

And, though it's not part of the Youth Media Awards, the 2013 Rainbow List, recognizing GLBTQ books for children and teens, was also announced today.

No comments :